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Back From the Edge 

• 

With a runner on third base, 
the pitcher lifts his non-pivot 

foot and breaks the back plane of 
the pitching plate. At that point, he 
realizes R3 has taken too generous a 
lead, so he steps directly toward third 
and easily picks off R3 (as shown in 
the PlayPics). Legal? Nope. 

Once the pitcher swings his entire 
free foot past the plane of the back 
edge of the rubber, he is committed 
to pitch (or throw or feint to second 
if there's a play there) and cannot 
throw to first or throw or feint to 
third (NFHS 6-2-4f; NCAA 9-1b-3; pro 
6.02a1 Cmt.). 

In the play example, the pitcher 
has committed a balk. In NFHS, the 
play is immediately dead and R3 is 
awarded home. In pro and NCAA, 
balks are delayed dead balls. 

In the two-umpire system, this 
balk is extremely difficult to detect, 
and it should be left to the base  
umpire. It's possible to use the sole 
of the shoe as a guide. If the base 
umpire can see the sole of the free 
foot as the pitcher kicks back, the 
pitcher has probably put his entire 
foot past the back edge of the rubber. 

Under NCAA rules, the above 
restriction also applies if any part of 
the stride leg (knee) breaks the plane 
(9-3L). 
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